
Fine Description Fine Amount

Administrative Penalty (Sewer Code, Chapter 1)

First Violation ‐

Second Violation $100.00

Third Violation $200.00

Fourth Violation $500.00

Civil and Criminal Penalties (Sewer Code, Chapter 2)

Failure to furnish technical or monitoring report* up to $1,000 / day + District staff time, costs and expenses

Intentional or negligent discharge of hazardous waste, as defined in Section 

25117 of the Health and Safety Code
up to $5,000 / day + District staff time, costs and expenses

Discharges in violation of any cease and desist or other order up to $10 / gallon + District staff time, costs and expenses

Criminal Penalties

Discharge resulting in contamination, pollution or nuisance
up to $1,000 / day + District staff time, costs and expenses 

(pretreatment)

Falsification of any record, report, plan or other document or vandalism of 

any monitoring device
up to $25,000 / day + District staff time, costs and expenses

Civil Enforcement Remedies

Failure to comply with any order issued by the District, including orders 

related to pretreatment standards or requirements
up to $10,000 / day + District staff time, costs and expenses

Intentional or negligent violation of any Notice to Correct issued by the 

District
up to $25,000 / day + District staff time, costs and expenses

Violation ‐ Penalty (Sewer Code, Chapter 3)

Civil Penalties

Violation of Sewer Code pursuant to the authority of California Government 

Code Sections 54739 ‐ 54740
up to $25,000 / violation / day

Violation of the Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. Section 1251 et. seq. up to $25,000 / violation / day

Administrative fines for discharge violations pursuant to the authority of 

California Government Code Sections 54740.5 and 54740.6
greater of $5,000 / day OR $10 / gallon

Criminal Penalties

Violations of the Sewer Code will be pursued as a misdemeanor
Upon conviction, not to exceed $1,000 or imprisonment for not 

more than thirty (30) days

Tampering with District Facilities 

First Violation $750 + District staff time, costs and expenses

Second Violation $1,500 + District staff time, costs and expenses

Third Violation $3,000 + District staff time, costs and expenses

Fourth Violation $6,000 + District staff time, costs and expenses

Vandalism/Destruction of District Facilities

First Violation $1,130 + District staff time, costs and expenses

Second Violation $2,260 + District staff time, costs and expenses

Third Violation $4,520 + District staff time, costs and expenses

Fourth Violation $9,040 + District staff time, costs and expenses

Credit Card Transaction Charge (Resolution 21‐06/Policy 3170)                                                      2.5%

Fiscal Year 2023/24

South Placer Municipal Utility District

Fine Schedule

* Technical or monitoring report includes discharge monitoring reports, sampling reports, grease hauler manifests and any other report required.


